Clare Community Games AGM

The St Francis Credit Union Clare Community Games Annual General Meeting was held recently in Treacy’s West County Hotel.  The attendance was disappointing considering the success Clare had in the National finals.

The President Cecilia O’Sullivan welcomed the delegates, County Executive and the National Director.  She thanked all those who devoted many hours to the organisation over the past year.  Her wish is that Community Games will grow and prosper and continue its task of nurturing sport and recreation amongst our young people.

The Chairperson Paula Byrne O’Connell welcomed everyone especially Michael Sheehan from Limerick the National Director.  She thanked the Co-Executive, volunteers and most of all the participants who combine to make the Banner county one of the best in Ireland.  She said some areas are fighting to survive and need help.  She thanked all the officers who were not seeking re election for their assistance over the years. Paula stood down from her position as chairperson.

The Secretary Mary Loughnane gave a very detailed report on all the activities at county, Munster & National level during the year. She acknowledged the work done by volunteers in all the areas.  She detailed the many successes at the National finals. At the All Star Awards on October 11th Seventy Six children from twenty four areas received awards. She wished all those in the National Area and Volunteer Awards which will be held on Sat 8th December in Mount Wolseley Hotel, Carlow.  Clare will be represented by Doora/Barefield in large area, Killanena/Flagmount in small area, Kevin O’Loughlin Adult volunteer and Una Ni Choileain Youth volunteer. Mary Thanked all the volunteers and participants for their contribution to Community Games.

The Treasurer Charleen Dillon gave a very detailed account on all the Income and Expenditure of the past year.  She thanked St Francis Credit Union and Clare County Council for their sponsorship and all our advertisers for their support.

The PRO’s Mary Phelan and Sean Lenihan gave details of all the coverage Community Games received in the Papers and Clare FM.

The Registrar, N.E.A.C. Delegate and Honorary Patron gave very comprehensive reports.

The National Director Michael Sheehan congratulated the county officers on their reports and the work they do for the children. He spoke on a number of the events on the national programme.  He said that the National organisation as well as county and area need more youth to get involved. He pointed out the importance of development of the events.


President – Cecilia O’Sullivan – Ennis St Johns

Chairperson – Kevin Ryan – Newmarket-on-Fergus

Secretary – Nicole Kelly – Newmarket-on-Fergus

Treasurer – Charleen Dillon – Meelick/Coonagh

PRO for Papers – Mary Phelan – Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry

PRO for Radio – Sean Lenihan – Doora/Barefield

Registrar – Veronica Finucane – Kilmihil

Games Director – Mike Reid – Inch/Kilmaley/Connolly

Development Officer – Liz Canny – Quin/Clooney

Vice Chairperman – Paula Byrne/O’Connell – Lisdoonvarna/Doolin/Kilfenora/Kilshanny

Vice President – Mary Lynch – Clarecastle/Ballyea

Graham Meakins – Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry

Assistant Secretary – Ita Hanrahan – Doora/Barefield & Mary Loughnane – Quin/Clooney

Assistant Treasurer – Jimmy Maher – Quin/Clooney

N.E.A.C. Delegate – Graham Meakins – Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry

Munster Delegates – Mary Loughnane – Quin/Clooney

Mary Phelan – Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry

Also on the County Executive – Patron Rose Meakins – Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry

Childrens Officer – Niamh Doyle – Ballynacally/Lissycasey

The position of Youth Officer to be filled at the next meeting



The Aldi Munster Community Games AGM was held last week in Lawlors Hotel, Dungarvan, Co Waterford.  Delegates from all six counties were in attendance.  All Officers gave very detailed reports of the happenings during the year, pointing out the many successes of the children from Munster.  The two Clare delegates were Mary Phelan and Mary Loughnane.  Mary Phelan was elected to the Munster appeals committee while Mary Loughnane was elected as the Munster representative on the National R.T.D. committee.




The National Area and Volunteer Awards were held on Saturday evening in The Mount Wolseley Hotel, Carlow.  In the large area award Doora/Barefield were the County Clare representative.  They were the most Involved area in Clare for the number of events they participated in together with their participation in The Steps to Health Project.  They were named as the winners of the Munster Area Award and then went on to take the Overall Award and National Title.